Newspaper Cuttings

Hello readers!

I don’t know if any of you have had a chance to read my latest blog post. If not, you can find it here. Also, don’t forget to check out my latest video! That was a review of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle, so if you haven’t watched that, you should go and do so immediately! In fact, I’ll put it below.

The Raven Cycle Review

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLGQ7lFFJQ4

Now that you’ve done that, I’d like to talk a little bit about my inspiration for that little bit of creative fiction I just posted. In the reception of the office that I work in, there is a cupboard full of old ledgers and books, and one of them is called ‘Newspaper Cuttings’. My mum suggested I have a look at it (for those of you who don’t know, I work in the same office as my mum. Gotta love a bit of nepotism!) so I took it down off the shelf today and had a flick though, and my word it’s amazing! The two sections of newspaper that were included in the story I wrote came from there and that’s what gave me the idea to write the story. There are tonnes of other, really fascinating stories and poems, and they’re all so creatively written.

Take this, for example:

Of Corset Is

What Shakespeare Did Not Say About Stays

A writer in a woman’s weekly says: “I think if a woman gave up wearing corsets of her own accord instead of by medical advice she would not be so eager to go back to them. It is not natural to wear them, but it is a custom that will die hard.” Just so. ‘Tis again the question of the hour. Of corset it is.

To stay or not to stay – that is the question.

Whether it is nobler in the mind to suffer

The throes of indigestion and attendant pangs,

Or cast our corsets to the dogs

And by discarding end them? To lace – to pinch

No more, and by this sacrifice thus end

The heartache and a host o’ unnatural shocks

We make flesh her to – ’tis a consummation

Devoutly to be wished. To lace – to pinch –

To squeeze! Perchance to break, aye all our ribs!

But in that squeezing process lie our hopes.

When we have shuffled off this whalebone coil

Well may we pause; there’s the respect

We pay unto the sterner sex.

For who would bear the sneers and scorn of man,

The embracer’s loss, the loved one’s contumely,

The pangs of dispized love, endure unstayed

The insolence of rivals, and the spurns

Of that great host on whom the stays enclasp

A spare bodice? Who would these corsets wear,

To pine and sigh under a weary life

But that the dread of being left unwed,

That miserable state to whose griefs

No maiden turns, puzzles the will,

And makes us rather wear the stays we have

Than have circumference we know not of.

I mean, how amazing is that!? I can’t find out what year it was published unfortunately, but I’m almost certain that it’s from the late 1800s. It’s a fascinating collection of clippings and I just had to share some of it with you!

Anyway! Back to work now πŸ˜€

’til next time,

Georgie xx

 

Leave a Reply

