When you’re feeling ill…| New Friends Tag

Hello readers!

I hope everyone’s had a good week or two since I last posted on here ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve actually finished all of my essays about a week ahead of schedule, so I’m finding myself a little bit lost for things to do, so I thought I’d post an extra video this week!

You can check that out below, but don’t forget to head over to YouTube and give it a thumbs up, and watch my other videos if you haven’t seen them already ๐Ÿ™‚

New Friend Tag with Bradley Birkholz

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUn1q-zCAtA

So now that you’ve watched that, I can carry on complaining about having nothing to do now! I will come across as very ungrateful to any of my friends who haven’t yet finished their essays, but it’s a very confusing feeling. To feel as though there is absolutely something I should be doing and yet knowing that I’ve already done it. And it’s far too soon for me to start packing ready to go home next weekend, and I don’t have a job. And to add insult to injury, I have fallen ill!

My head is full of cold, my throat is sore, my mind is foggy, my lungs feel half full with mucous… it’s generally just gross. So I thought I’d compile a list of the things I like to do when I feel horrible and ill…

  1. Have a shower! – Seriously. I know that you feel horrid and the thought of getting out of your warm bed and your warm clothes into the cold to stand under a stream of water (don’t they say that getting wet can make you ill!?) is even more horrid. But I promise that once you’ve cleaned off and washed your hair and put on some fresh pyjamas you’ll feel 100 times better.
  2. Drink orange juice! – So vitamin C is supposed to help when you feel ill for some reason, although I’m pretty sure that it’s ideally used as a preventative measure than as a cure, but still… I always drink orange juice when I’m ill because there’s just something so refreshing about it. The citrus really wakes up your sinuses and it can just genera;;y make you feel a bit better.
  3. Drink lots of water… – Just drinking orange juice isn’t enough, you need to drink lots of water as well. Because you can’t breathe properly, you’re breathing a lot more regularly, so you’re essentially panting, which is something you do to help you cool down by taking heat away with water through evaporation. Not only that, but you’re going to have a temperature, because that’s how your body kills invading cells, so you’re going to be sweating more than usual. All of this means that you’re losing a lot more water than usual, so you need to be putting more in. If you’re like me and you don’t really like drinking water, have some weak squash. It can actually be better to drink squash anyway because it will be slightly easier for your body to absorb osmotically, put a pinch of salt into a large 1.5 litre bottle of squash and it’ll be even better for you.
  4. Make yourself comfortable – It’s a bit of an obvious one, but the more comfortable you feel, the faster you’ll feel better. I like to put on clean pyjamas after a shower, make my bed quickly and then surround myself with pillows. Pop on some innocuous tv and wrap up nice a warm so you can drift into a sleep. Sleeping will help your body fight the illness faster.
  5. Take medicine – to be honest, I tend to avoid taking paracetamol etc. because I feel like it just makes my body less effective and prolongs the illness. However, if you really can’t avoid doing things during your day, going to work or school, or if you have an appointment that you can’t cancel, try something with caffeine in it. I prefer paracetamol because I feel like it has more of an effect for me that anything else, but paracetamol with caffeine really helps me move past the gross feelings and feel better, even just for a little bit. I also sometimes take one just as I get into bed so that I can go to sleep more easily.

So there you go! 5 things that I recommend you do when you’re feeling ill. This can also work when you’re feeling just mentally exhausted or off, as sometimes that’s a precursor to an illness, or it can just make you feel better to do something about it ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s all for today, I hope you all have a good week and I’ll speak to you soon!

Georgie xxx

Leave a Reply

