The Liebster Award

Hello readers!

So some of you may have noticed, or not, that I have been offline for several days. There are very good reasons for this, which you can read about in this post πŸ˜€

Sometime last week, I was notified that I’d been nominated for the Liebster Award by sarah’sbookshelf! (Go check out her award post here, and all her other posts while you’re at it!) Thanks so much for the nomination Sarah, and sorry it took me so long to get around to posting it!

The rules for the award are as follows:

  • Thank the nominator
  • Display the award
  • Answer the questions
  • Nominate five more bloggers with the same questions or different ones.
  • Notify your nominees.

Rule 1, check!

liebster-award1

Rule 2, check! Now for the hard part… The questions!!

Why did you start a blog?

Much like Sarah, I started my blog as a way of writing about my Uni books so that I have something to go back to once I start writing essays, hence the rather long lengths of my book reviews!

Favourite place to read?

Oh, that’s easy, curled up in an armchair next to a fire. The room has to be silent though. No TV or even music allowed in my reading room πŸ˜€

Favourite book of all time?

Oh lord… that’s a very difficult question… I honestly can’t think of a single book, nothing stands out to me… that either means that I’ve read too many books (is that even possible?) or that I just haven’t read my favourite book yet… For now I will just have to say something corny, likeΒ Wuthering Heights orΒ Jane Eyre…Β that’s a cop out I know, but maybe I’ll come back and update when I figure out what my favourite book actually is!

Classics or moderns?

Another tough one… I’m going to have to say moderns I think… Mostly because modern novels cover so much more ground, I mean, you can have contemporary romance novels, or historical romance novels, or sci-fi romance novels… I like romance novels πŸ˜› So yeah, moderns.

Favourite book series?

Harry Potter hands-down, no contest. I grew up with those books, like so many others of my generation, and they have taught me so much. They are currently taking pride of place on my bookcase and I wouldn’t be without them!

If you could be a fictional character, who would you be and why?

Of all the fictional characters that I’ve read, probably Catherine Morland ofΒ Northanger Abbey is most like me, but who would I want to be? Somebody like Bathsheba Everdeen (Far From the Madding Crowd).Β She’s strong and independent and not afraid to let anything silly like feelings get in the way of the job she has to do… Sometimes I think I care a bit too much about a lot of stuff and it’s hard to cope with… Anyway!

Book or eBook?

Everyone’s going to yell at me now, but eBook. I know! I know! I love an actual book as much as the next person, and I insist on having the actual physical texts for my course reading, and I love being surrounded by books. But if I had to choose one or the other for the rest of my life, I would have to go with eBooks. For the very simple reason that you can carry so many around with you at once, on holiday etc., and there is such amazing variety! Plus, where else am I to find cheesy, cliched, and utterly absorbing romance novels for free?! Where I ask you! πŸ˜›

Favourite time of day?

Sarah is going to roll her eyes, but twilight. It’s that gorgeous, pale lilac, early evening sky after a day out in the sunshine with friends. The air chills and the patio heater is lit, everyone’s still outside but curled up together with blankets and hoodies, somebody brings out a guitar and you’re all singing together, enjoying each others’ company. The birds are still twittering slightly, the moon hasn’t yet risen, and the light of day lingers just a little longer. Sigh. Yes, that is 100% my favourite time of day.

A film that completely ruined your expectations because the book was amazing?

Di-freaking-vergent. Need I say more?

So, there you have it! Rule 3, check!

My nominations are:

And I’m going to be extremely lazy and let you answer the same questions, but also answer this, ‘Apart from reading, what do you enjoy doing most?’

Thanks so much again, Sarah, for nominating me, and hope you’ve all enjoyed reading my answers to these questions. If you want to answer these questions for yourself, just drop me a comment with your responses. I’d love to hear from you!

’til next time, readers…

Georgie xxx

Leave a Reply

