My move to Cardiff

Hello readers!

This post is all about my move back down to Cardiff. For those of you who aren’t aware, my parents live in North Wales in a tiny, weenie little village called Babell (that’s Babeth, sort of, if you don’t know how to pronounce Welsh). The closest city to me is Chester, which, if you don’t know, is close to Liverpool. I, however, live in Cardiff, kind of, at least during term time when I’m at University. As I’m sure most of you are aware, Cardiff is the capital of Wales and is in the south, pretty much due West from London, and it’s about three and a half hours’ drive from my parents house.

Now that that little Geography lesson is finished, on with the post! So, I had to move out of my gorgeous little house last year, because that was a four bedroom house that my housemates and I just couldn’t afford without a fourth person (the person we were living with moved out early because we apparently “made life too difficult for her”, that’s rubbish, but whatever). After a frenzied search with several estate agents (that’s a realtor to any Americans out there), we finally found a place that wasn’t awful and decided, with some coercion from the estate agent, to sign the lease.

IMG_2049 IMG_2048 IMG_2046

IMG_2045

So, at 6am on Friday the 28th August 2015, (the sunrise was gorgeous) my mum and I got in our little Renault Clio, stuffed to bursting with my things, and started on the journey to Cardiff. All in all, it didn’t take that long. We only stopped a few times to go to the loo and then we got straight back on the way. By half ten I had my news keys and we were opening the front door of my new house! I should point out at this stage that my housemates weren’t moving in until later, so I was the first to see it. Also, as IMG_2041a condition of our signing the lease, the landlord had agreed to provide us with a new shower head and a tumble drier, and they were to paint the bathroom ceiling. Smart people among you may already see where I’m going with this…

So I walked into my new house, filled with anticipation and excitement, and was promptly let down. The house was filthy. The cleaners that were supposed to have been in to thoroughly clean the house obviously hadn’t done their jobs properly. There was a huge black spot of mould on the ceiling above the living room door.IMG_2055 In short, I was very upset. After going back to the estate agent and complaining, it was ascertained that there was largely just a misunderstanding. The landlord hadn’t been aware that I was moving in before the 1st of September, and they had actually been planning to come round and do everything they had promised that weekend. Mollified, my mum and I returned to the house to meet up with my grandparents who had travelled all the way from Bournemouth (right down on the south coast of England) to help me move my things in.

IMG_2124We were told that the cleaners would get in contact with us that same day, but when it got to 5 o’clock and there was no further communication, we gave up on that happening (when they finally got in contact on Tuesday I decided it wasn’t worth having them back round since we’d already done their work for them). So we started cleaning ourselves, completely redoing to kitchen, the bathrooms and the bedrooms until they were up to our standards. My grandparents helped us get my things from the storage unit I’d hired over the summer, including my brand new, custom made bookcase (!!!) and the new desk that my grandparents had bought to replace the IMG_2117crappy one that came in the room. Oh, and my grandparents had also bought me new Venetian blinds for my windows.

Once my grandparents left on Friday night, my mum and I set about making a list of everything we needed to do and buy in the next few days before we finally fell into bed at around midnight. The sunset that day was also gorgeous.

IMG_2087Β IMG_2078Β IMG_2074

I woke up early the next day, but my mum had already been up for about an hour, finishing off cleaning and relaying the lino in the downstairs bathroom (my mum is very handy, I honestly don’t know what I’d have done without her!) We then set about cleaning out all the kitchen cupboards in preparation for putting my things away while we waited for the landlord to come and fit the tumble drier.

IMG_2112Once the landlord arrived, we were off to the shops! We went first to The Range (marvellous shop, excellent stuff, very reasonably priced, although we have proved their slogan “if we don’t sell it, you don’t need it” wrong) to buy new curtains, various household items, decorative things and so on. Next we went to B&Q to buy lampshades, bulbs, melamine paint, and extension cables! (Perhaps I’m going into too much detail here…)

After that, we went to the storage unit to get the last lot IMG_2111of my stuff before going to home to start putting things away. Our final shopping trips of the day were to Lidl and Tesco to stock up my store cupboard and get my food for the week. All in all, including the new stationery and kitchen stuff that I bought before I got to Cardiff, I’ve spent about Β£300 on this new house… oh well! that is what money’s for after all.

IMG_2070That afternoon, I set about painting my wardrobe. Yeah, paint my wardrobe. It had an alright creamy colour for the most part, but a horrid pink trim around each door. It just made it stand out horribly. So we decided to paint it. Now it’s much better, with a nice white (ahem, Vanilla Shake) trim instead, much less conspicuous. IMG_2090Once the wardrobe was painted, we put my kitchen stuff away and then started unpacking my room properly. That took quite a long time… I have a lot of stuff… Anyway! Now my room looks pretty! It’s slowly but surely starting to feel like my room, and I’m sure it’ll be even better once my other housemate arrives. One is already here, and with him came the internet (hallelujah!) so I was finally able to get back online. So, I’m now blogging from my new room in Cardiff πŸ˜€ you should probably expect the frequency of posts to die down a bit once I start back at Uni, but you’ve got a few weeks until then, so don’t panic πŸ˜‰ I’m just going to spam you with even more pictures of my pretty room and my pretty things now πŸ˜€

IMG_2126 IMG_2116 IMG_2114 IMG_2100 IMG_2096

Okay, I’m done now πŸ˜€ sorry about that, but I’m sort of in love with my new room!

The next post will be on Edward Bellamy’sΒ Looking BackwardΒ which has been due for a while, but I sort of really couldn’t be bothered with it… After that we’ll haveΒ Brave New World by Aldous Huxley,Β Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, andΒ Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Then hopefully in the not-too-distant future you shall have a post onΒ Bleak House!Β I’m not making any promises on how quickly that’s going to happen though… It’s going to take me a long time to read… Ooh, also, be on the lookout for my London post! I’m so excited I can hardly breathe!

’til next time, readers!

Georgie xxx

One thought on “My move to Cardiff

Leave a Reply

